What is NEET ?

NEET, which stands for the National Eligibility cum Entrance Test, is a standardized medical entrance examination in India. It conducted by the National Testing Agency (NTA) on behalf of the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare, Government of India. NEET is the primary entrance exam for admission to undergraduate medical and dental programs (MBBS and BDS) in government and private medical colleges across India.

NEET stands for the National Eligibility cum Entrance Test. It is a national level entrance exam conducted in India for students who wish to pursue undergraduate medical courses, such as MBBS or BDS, in government in private medical colleges in India. NEET is conducted by the National Testing Agenc..


To appear for NEET, candidates must be Indian citizens or Overseas Citizens of India (OCI). They should have completed 17 years of December 31 of the year of admission and must have passed the 10+2 examination with Physics, Chemistry, Biology/Biotechnology, and English as mandatory subjects. The minimum qualifying marks in the 10+2 exam must be met as per the eligibility criteria.


NEET scores are used by medical colleges in India to determine eligibility for admission to MBBS and BDS programs. Candidates need to meet the cutoff scores set by individual colleges or states a seat. All-India Rank (AIR) is also assigned based on NEET scores, which can be used for admission to colleges across the country.

State Quotas:-

A percentage of seats in government medical colleges is reserved for candidates from the respective states or Union Territories. Each state conducts its own counseling process for these seats. NEET scores are used to determine eligibility for state quota seats.

Exam Format :-

NEET is a pen-and-paper-based examination. It consists of multiple-choice questions (MCQs) with a total of 180 questions. The subjects covered are Physics, Chemistry, Botany, and Zoology. The exam duration is 3 hours.

Scoring :-

Each correct answer is awarded 4 marks, and there is a deduction of 1 mark for each incorrect answer. Unanswered questions do not receive any marks. The total marks possible in NEET are 720 (180 questions x 4 marks each).

AOQ (All India Quota):-

A portion of seats in government medical colleges is reserved under the All India (AIQ). These seats are open to candidates from all states and union territories. Centralized counseling is conducted for AIQ seats based on NEET scores


NEET scores are valid for the same academic year in which the exam is taken. For example, if you appear for NEET in 2023, your scores will be valid for admission in the 2023-24 academic year.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *